Skip to main content

Biblical Studies

Designed with Biblical studies students in mind, this guide highlights information resources to enhance your research.

Resources Available in ZL

Commentaries

Zondervan Library has over 2,500 Bible commentaries that you can use for your assignments.  Commentaries can cover one book of the Bible or several books or all books of the Bible in one volume or set.  Some commentaries focus on one or two individual books of the Bible, but there are several key commentary sets that have volumes covering each book in turn. 

These can be found in the call number area of 220.7 in both the Reference Collection (main level) and the Main Collection (upstairs).

Concordances

Concordances list words used in the Bible and give references to the instances they are used throughout entire biblical text.  You can find several Bible concordances in the Reference Collection on the Main Level of the Library in call number area 220.523. Others will be located in similar call number ranges in the Main Collection on the Upper level.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias offer entries relating to people, places, customs, doctrine and biblical criticism. Entries can vary in length from very brief to in-depth studies that are multiple pages.

Find most Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias in the Reference Collection on the Main Level of the Library. 

Those that cover the entire Bible can be found in the 220.3 area.

Handbooks

Handbooks highlight biblical text through short Bible commentaries, maps, historical backgrounds, archaeological background, tables of weights, lists of kings, and much more.  Bible handbooks are often located in the Main Collection (Upper level) and offer a variety of perspectives on biblical topics. Below are a few worth highlighting, though we have many more. Their call numbers will vary, as they are shelved according to their overall subject matter.