Web sites can be sources of great information...but how do you determine what is okay to use in academic papers?
Here are 4 considerations as you assess web sites for use in your assignments.
Author: Who wrote the section, and what are their credentials? What larger organization are they affiliated with? If I google them, what do I find? What is the parent web site?
Bias: Can you identify an angle/slant/bias in the article or on the larger web site? What is the purpose of the study or content—to prove something to a particular group? Can you corroborate the claims with at least 2 other sources?
Content: Is the source accurate? Are there basic mistakes in grammar, dead links, or spelling? When was it posted or last updated or published? Does it contain claims that contradict things you know to be true or even other claims within the article itself?
Support: Does the content have citations or sources? Can you verify the sources? Can you contact the author or organization?
The Law Library of Congress and Google teamed up on a collaborative pilot project to digitize the Law Library's entire collection of 75,000 volumes of printed Congressional Hearings. The intent of this initial digitization project is to produce browsable, text-readable versions of these hearings and to make them available as quickly as possible. Currently, the site contains three thematic collections that cover hearings on the U.S. Census, freedom of information, and immigration.
"Human Rights First believes that building respect for human rights and the rule of law will help ensure the dignity to which every individual is entitled and will stem tyranny, extremism, intolerance, and violence.
Human Rights First is practical and effective. We advocate for change at the highest levels of national and international policymaking. We seek justice through the courts. We raise awareness and understanding through the media. We build coalitions among those with divergent views. And we mobilize people to act."
Full of media articles, videos, and other news items in various forms, this site is a hub of human rights efforts worldwide. It also provides citations for many human rights related publications that can possibly be found through Interlibrary Loan or purchased from this site. Contact a Librarian if you need help.
The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
Through the OKR, The World Bank collects, disseminates, and permanently preserves its intellectual output in digital form. The OKR also increases the range of people who can discover and access Bank content—from governments and civil society organizations (CSOs), to students and the general public.
The OKR contains thousands of research works including:
World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies
Books published by the World Bank Group including flagship publications, academic books and practitioner volumes;
All World Development Reports (WDRs) plus recent WDR background papers;
Journal articles published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO), two journals published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the World Bank;
Accepted manuscripts of Bank-authored journal articles from selected external publishers (after an embargo period if applicable);
Metadata and links to Bank-authored external journal articles;
Serial publications (typically data-intensive outlook reports);
Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP)—a series of papers that disseminate findings of work in progress in order to encourage the exchange of ideas about development issues;
Selected other papers of high research quality;
Economic and Sector Work (ESW) studies—a series of analytical reports prepared by Bank staff. ESWs gather and evaluate information about a country’s economy and/or a specific sector;
Knowledge Notes, providing short briefs that capture lessons of experience from Bank operations and research;
The latest Country Opinion Surveys done in client countries for feedback on World Bank Group activities.
Selected translated titles.
Started in 1992 by artist Peter Gabriel, this organization is dedicated to human rights awareness and action around the world. Their mission, as stated on their web site: "WITNESS uses video and online technologies to open the eyes of the world to human rights violations. We empower people to transform personal stories of abuse into powerful tools for justice, promoting public engagement and policy change."
Provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993.
The LII is known internationally as a leading "law-not-com" provider of public legal information. We offer all opinions of the United States Supreme Court handed down since 1992, together with over 600 earlier decisions selected for their historic importance, over a decade of opinions of the New York Court of Appeals, and the full United States Code. We also publish important secondary sources: libraries in two important areas (legal ethics and social security) and a series of "topical" pages that serve as concise explanatory guides and Internet resource listings for roughly 100 areas of law.
A public database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations. These GLIN members contribute the full texts of their published documents to the database in their original languages. Each document is accompanied by a summary in English and, in many cases in additional languages, plus subject terms selected from the multilingual index to GLIN. All summaries are available to the public, and public access to full texts is also available for most jurisdictions.
This guide is designed for researchers and information professionals with an interest in United Nations documentation. It presents an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the Organization (e.g, reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications, press releases) and gives guidance on how to work with them.
Sponsored by the MBC--Museum of Broadcast Communications-this web site presents an interactive multimedia celebration of over forty years of television and politics. Including the entirety of the Kennedy-Nixon debates of 1960, and clips, photos, and news items of each following presidential debate, it recounts the history of televised elections. Has a curriculum resource center with lesson plans and activities that promote learning in the social sciences and language arts.
Offers extensive research on historical and current information of U.S. Presidents. Has over 85,000 documents available through searches, including speeches, official papers, executive orders, proclamations, news conferences, and more. Definitely worth a perusal when you need information on Presidents.
Provides a plethora of legal resources from a directory of laws and lawyers in over 200 countries to identifying law schools, etc. In the left-hand menu, under International Law, the link for Laws for 230 countries offers law and government information resources for countries in alphabetical order.
This site has made available more than 160,000 hours of federal government events from 1987 to the present. Can search by topic, series, congressional committee, and most recent or most popular programs. Unique resource for U.S. federal government.
This site is a "listing of political sites available on the Internet sorted by country, with links to Parties, Organizations, Governments, Media and more from all around the world." Search by region around the world, alphabetically by nation, or organization (via the basic Search feature).