Skip to main content

EXS 111 - Foundations of Exercise Science

This guide is for Fall, 2014 Kinesiology 111.

A Place to Start: suggestions

Step 1:  Develop a research question. Be as specific as possible. Example: What are the effects of hydration on performance levels of female cross-country runners.

Step 2: Highlight key words within the body of the question. What are the effects of hydration on performance levels of female cross-country runners?

Step 3: Find a good overview of the topic when possible. This does not mean looking at journal articles. Background information may be found in textbooks or reference resources such as CREDO. 

What are the key words for the following search:

EXAMPLE: What does the recent literature suggest regarding the correlation between concussion/brain damage in (American) football (not soccer) and cognition? What are common strategies for prevention of concussions?

Searching for Journals

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools can save time and frustration. 

Zotero is a dedicated citation management tool that helps you organize the resources that you have found and provides correct citation format.

 Zotero

  • Easy, quick, open-source (Free) citation manager
  • Works with PC/Mac OS's and Firefox, Chrome, Safari browsers 
  • "Reads" citation data on a web page (icon which allows you to save a citation appears in line with address bar in browser)
  • Format citation in any of 2400+ styles available from Zotero
  • Find help: Getting Your Stuff into Zotero

If you choose not to use a dedicated citation managment tool of which Zotero is just one of many, you may also wish to cut and past citations from specific databases such as WorldCat into a word document. The way to cut and paste varies but the general process is similar to the example below:

WorldCat

  • Search for your resource (book, article, report, etc.)
  • Click on item title
  • Find "Cite/Export" link in upper right portion of record
  • Choose from several styles

Databases for EXS 111

Understanding Databases

Proprietary databases to which Taylor University subscribes have distinctive differences from search engines such as Google or Google Scholar. A database, generally, is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval of subject matter, specifically scholarly subject matter. They tend to be narrower in scope than Google or Google Scholar. 

Prominent features of proprietary databases generally:

  • Cover specific discipline area/s.
  • Include academic (peer-reviewed) articles from journals or magazines, electronic books, newspapers, images and research related resources.
  • Provide citation information or full text to what may be included in the text of the article (a works cited or bibliography.)
  • Are subscriptions for which Zondervan pays. Whereas Google is free some databases are thousands of dollars per year.

Zondervan Library subscribes to over 75 research databases that contain journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on both general and specific disciplines. There are pros and cons for each option. Awareness of the content, organization, precision of search capabilities can save you time and yield the most appropriate and relevant results.

For more information see What is a library database? (Western Oregon University) http://www.wou.edu/provost/library/clip/tutorials/lib_database.htm

Locating Books in Zondervan

Call numbers will indicate where an item is in the Library based on its collection. 

Reference Collection

  • Reference materials are typically those you use for a short section, such as Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and sometimes Handbooks. These items must be used in the Library building and cannot be checked out. There are a few Bible commentaries in this collection, but the majority are not here (see below).

    The Reference Collection is located on the Library's Main level, to the right as you walk in. Look for the brown "Reference" sign. 

 

Main Collection

  • Items in the Main Collection are those that you can check out. You will find numerous Bible Commentaries in this collection. 

    This Collection is located on the Upper level of the Library.

WorldCat Quick Search

Finding eBooks

The Library has more eBooks than Print books on our shelves. This marks a big change in how Libraries do business and how people read books. 

Search these two collections of eBooks to discover the wide variety of books available online.