Skip to main content

SMA 115 - Intro to Sport Management

This guide provides resources to support the SMA 115 assignment.

A Place to Start: suggestions

Step 1:  Develop a research question. Be as specific as possible. Example: What research has been done on managing a sport tourism program for college students in Australia?

Step 2: Highlight key words within the body of the question: What research has been done on sports management and tourism programs for college students in Australia?   

Step 3: Find a good overview of the topic when possible. This does not mean looking at journal articles. Background information may be found in textbooks or reference resources such as CREDO. 

Practice:  What are the key words for the following search:

EXAMPLE: What does the recent literature suggest regarding  How do athletic facilities impact recruitment of prospective students?

Interlibrary Loan

Steps for Ordering on ILL

Steps for ordering a book through interlibrary loan.

1. Be sure that you have an ILLIAD account. You need to sign up for an ILLIAD account using the link here: https://ezproxy.taylor.edu/login?url=https://taylor.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/illiad.dll  This link can be found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.

2. Using World Cat Research Station, perform the search. Example: Title: Leg pain in the running athlete Author: Alexander K. Meininger Publisher: Philadelphia, Pa. ; London : Saunders, 2012.

3. In the body of the record scroll down to World Cat: find it in libraries globally. To the right is a link: Request item through Interlibrary Loan.

4. This Link goes to your ILLIAD account. Log in to ILLIAD. The information on this record should automatically fill in the request form. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Submit Request

Steps for ordering an article through interlibrary loan. 

1. Be sure that you have an ILLIAD account. You need to sign up for an ILLIAD account using the link listed above. This link can also be found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.

2. Using the desired database, perform a search. Example using PubMed:  

Journal Title: Clin Sports Med. 2012 Apr;31(2):203-15. doi: 10.1016/j.csm.2011.11.002. Article Title: Evaluation of the injured runner. Authors: Meininger AK1, Koh JL.

3. The full title is Clinics in Sports Medicine. You can usually copy the journal abbreviation in Google or use the doi to determine the exact title.

4. Cut and paste this title into Journal Finder located on the main Zondervan Library page. This verifies that we do not own the title in full text in another ZL database. This is an essential step that saves time. If Zondervan Library owns or has access to the item in full text form it will not be delivered to you through your ILLIAD account. The Interlibrary Loan department may inform you that we have access to it by email as a courtesy to you. But this is not guaranteed. You will ultimately have to redo a search.

5. You do NOT need or want to order any article directly from a publisher linking from the PubMed site. The access to articles this way is very costly. Zondervan is usually able to obtain the item from a local college or university for free or in some cases we have accounts for purchasing on- demand articles. Let us find it for you, in most cases at a more reasonable cost that what Science Direct, Elsevier or other publishers will charge.

6. You can then import the needed information into a blank ILLIAD form and submit the request.

7.  OR  For an easier way to automatically order an item in PubMed, you can choose MEDLINE (which is basically the same database as PubMed) and use the easy to find  link to interlibrary loan  External Link IconBorrow this item from another library (Interlibrary Loan)

8. PubMed does not have an easy to use interlibrary loan link at this time.

 

 

 

Sport Management Databases

Understanding Databases

Proprietary databases to which Taylor University subscribes have distinctive differences from search engines such as Google or Google Scholar. A database, generally, is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval of subject matter, specifically scholarly subject matter. They tend to be narrower in scope than Google or Google Scholar. 

Prominent features of proprietary databases generally:

  • Cover specific discipline area/s.
  • Include academic (peer-reviewed) articles from journals or magazines, electronic books, newspapers, images and research related resources.
  • Provide citation information or full text to what may be included in the text of the article (a works cited or bibliography.)
  • Are subscriptions for which Zondervan pays. Whereas Google is free some databases are thousands of dollars per year.

Zondervan Library subscribes to over 75 research databases that contain journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on both general and specific disciplines. There are pros and cons for each option. Awareness of the content, organization, precision of search capabilities can save you time and yield the most appropriate and relevant results.

For more information see What is a library database? (Western Oregon University) http://www.wou.edu/provost/library/clip/tutorials/lib_database.htm

Locating Books in Zondervan

Call numbers will indicate where an item is in the Library based on its collection. 

Reference Collection

  • Reference materials are typically those you use for a short section, such as Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and sometimes Handbooks. These items must be used in the Library building and cannot be checked out. There are a few Bible commentaries in this collection, but the majority are not here (see below).

    The Reference Collection is located on the Library's Main level, to the right as you walk in. Look for the brown "Reference" sign. 

 

Main Collection

  • Items in the Main Collection are those that you can check out. You will find numerous Bible Commentaries in this collection. 

    This Collection is located on the Upper level of the Library.

WorldCat Quick Search

Finding eBooks

The Library has more eBooks than Print books on our shelves. This marks a big change in how Libraries do business and how people read books. 

Search these two collections of eBooks to discover the wide variety of books available online.