Skip to main content

FMP 350 - Media Theory and Ethics

This guide provides resources to support the Media Theory and Ethics course and assignments.

Steps for Ordering on ILL

Steps for ordering a book through interlibrary loan.

1. You need to sign up for an ILLIAD account. This link is also found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.

2. Using World Cat Research Station, perform the search. Example: kw: agenda setting kw: facebook

Agenda Setting in a 2.0 World. Thomas Johnson. 2014.

3. In the body of the record scroll down to World Cat: find it in libraries globally. To the right is a link: Request item through Interlibrary Loan.

4. This Link goes directly to your ILLIAD account. Log in to ILLIAD. The information on this record should automatically fill in the request form. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Submit Request.

 

Steps for ordering an article through interlibrary loan. 

1. Be sure that you have an ILLIAD account. You need to sign up for an ILLIAD account using the link listed above. This link can also be found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.

2. Using the desired database, perform a search. Example using the database Communication and Mass Media Complete

The fight for ‘how to think’: Traditional mediasocial networks, and issue interpretation. By: Meraz, Sharon. Journalism. 02/01/2011, Vol. 12 Issue 1, p107-127. 21p. DOI: 10.1177/1464884910385193.

Journal Title: Journalism

3. Cut and paste this title into Journal Finder located on the main Zondervan Library page. This verifies that we do or do not own the title either in print or in full text in another ZL database. This is an essential step that saves time. If we do not own a title you can proceed with ordering it through your ILLIAD account.

Example:  (this is not the same title mentioned above)

Journalism Quarterly Communication & Mass Media Complete 1975 - 1994  ISSN: 0196-3031

If Zondervan Library owns or has access to the item in hard copy or full text form it will not be delivered to you directly via your ILLIAD account. The Interlibrary Loan department may inform you that we have access to it by email as a courtesy to you. But this is not guaranteed. You will ultimately have to redo a search.

4. You do NOT need or want to order any article directly from a publisher linking from a Google scholar or other site that links directly to the publisher. The access to articles this way is very costly. Zondervan is usually able to obtain the item from a local college or university for free or in some cases we have accounts for purchasing on-demand articles. Let us find it for you, in most cases at a more reasonable cost that what Science Direct, Elsevierm, Sage or other publishers will charge.

5. Here are examples of the direct links to ILLIAD and Journal Finder. 

 External Link IconBorrow this item from another library (Interlibrary Loan) is the link to borrow from another library. 

This article may be available in print or online through another available resource.Check Journal Finder for Availability is the link to Journal Finder

What is a DOI number and why does it matter?

DOI=digital object identifier

It is a permanent identifier that will take you straight to a document no matter where it’s located on the Internet. When available they are usually part of the citation or on the main or first page of an article.

Before you begin looking for a DOI for your article you should know:  

1. Not all articles have a DOI number. While the majority of articles published today do have DOI numbers, most older articles -more than two years old-- do not. Some publishers are adding DOIs to older articles. 

2.. While some library databases provide the DOI number as part of the article's citation, this is not consistent across databases. 

When you have a DOI number you can use a DOI locator to link you to the article (sometimes in full text or sometimes just the citation.)

DOI Locators:

            CrossRef.org.

             DOI.org

3. Here are some basic guidelines from APA Publication Manual (6th edition) for citing electronic sources.

  • For print or electronic journals, include the issue number only when the journal is paginated separately by issue.
  • The retrieval date and database information are not needed for articles retrieved from online sources. Instead, include the article's DOI.
  • If there is no DOI, provide the URL for the journal homepage as the second choice. The retrieval date is not required in this type of reference.
  • In the rare instances that the journal does not have its own homepage (such as for older journals no longer in print but converted to online documents), provide (a) the database homepage or (b) the name of the database and the accession number.
  • A retrieval date is only needed in the reference list for non-journal instances where material might change at a later date.
  • For online newspaper and magazine articles you need not provide the specific page number, retrieval date, or exact article URL. You would provide only the periodical's home page.

Zotero Tutorial

Hands-On with Zotero    

Having troubles?  Scroll to the bottom for some troubleshooting tips.

1) What is Zotero? Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. Essentially, Zotero allows you to cite sources in papers properly and then create a list of references once a paper is complete. 

 

2) What are the benefits of Zotero?

Well...it’s free! It’s simple (after you get the hang of it). It’s cloud-based. It’s multi-platform (Windows, Mac, Linux)

 

3) How do you install it?

(Disclaimer: this is Windows- and Office-based and may be slightly different if using a Linux or Mac operating system)

Although there is a stand-alone version of Zotero with plug-ins to various browsers, the version I prefer is used with the Firefox web browser as it eliminates the need to have Zotero Standalone.

Firefox has “plug-ins” which is how Zotero works in Firefox.  Open Firefox and then to download the Zotero plug-in for Firefox. 

Now that you have Firefox and the Zotero plug-in, you’ll want to register.  This will only take a few minutes and is the standard username and password deal. Registration allows you to access your sources anywhere once you have the Zotero software.

One more step: using Firefox download the Microsoft Word plug-in Firefox extension (there are plug-ins for freeware office suites as well-see the Zotero website for more details). This Firefox plug-in communicates with Word and allows the Zotero citations to be imported into your papers.  Consequently, Firefox must be opened/running when writing a paper for Zotero to work!

 

4) So, how do you use it?

First, you can compile sources into your cloud-based Zotero storage in several ways.  You can add sources manually, but the document icon as seen in the web address bar to the left of the star is the quick and easy way to add sources from Google Scholar, PubMed, Amazon, etc.           

When you click the document icon to save the citation, you will see a message at the bottom right of your browser that pops up and looks like this:

You can do this for just about anything - websites, texts, articles...almost anything you can find online.  You can also organize your citations into folders like I’ve done:

Now, that you have some resources, it’s time to finally put them into your paper.  When you open Word, you’ll notice on the ribbon (i.e., at the top of Word), you have a new tab called “Add-Ins”.

Clicking on Add-Ins will reveal all of the Zotero buttons such as “insert citation” and “insert bibliography”.

To start adding sources, simply select the “insert citation” button.  An option to choose what style you prefer will appear.  Select your preference (If you don’t see the style you need, you can always check the thousands of additional styles found in the Zotero repository). 

Once you select your preference, you’ll have a Google search-like bar pop up.

Just type in some information that Zotero would use to identify your source (author name, article title, etc.), select the proper source from the drop down menu, and hit enter.  Voilà!

When you are finished with a paper and want to enter your references, just click the “insert bibliography” button that was back under the Add-Ins tab at the top of Word. 

Voila!  You have your finely formatted paper with less work.

 

5) Your turn!

Download what you don’t have, register, do some quick searches, and play with Zotero and Word...GO!

 

6) What else does Zotero offer?

Group work, etc.

 

7) Limitations of Zotero

Not 100% accurate - you need to double-check the information! 

Doesn’t teach students much about APA, MLA, or the other citations styles...just how to click.

 

Troubleshooting

1) Make sure Firefox, and the two Zotero extensions are up-to-date.

2) Make sure when you are downloading the two Zotero extensions, you are using Firefox.

3) Make sure Firefox is open when you are trying to cite materials in Word.

4) Check out this cite and this video for more troubleshooting tips