Skip to main content

MUS 135 - Intro to Music Education

This guide aims to provide resources supporting the Intro to Music Education class and assignments.

Understanding Databases

Proprietary databases to which Taylor University subscribes have distinctive differences from search engines such as Google or Google Scholar. A database, generally, is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval of subject matter, specifically scholarly subject matter. They tend to be narrower in scope than Google or Google Scholar. 

Prominent features of proprietary databases generally:

  • Cover specific discipline area/s.
  • Include academic (peer-reviewed) articles from journals or magazines, electronic books, newspapers, images and research related resources.
  • Provide citation information or full text to what may be included in the text of the article (a works cited or bibliography.)
  • Are subscriptions for which Zondervan pays. Whereas Google is free some databases are thousands of dollars per year.

Zondervan Library subscribes to over 75 research databases that contain journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on both general and specific disciplines. There are pros and cons for each option. Awareness of the content, organization, precision of search capabilities can save you time and yield the most appropriate and relevant results.

For more information see What is a library database? (Western Oregon University) http://www.wou.edu/provost/library/clip/tutorials/lib_database.htm

Searching for Journals

Interlibrary Loan

Steps for Ordering on ILL

Steps for ordering a book through interlibrary loan.

1. Be sure that you have an ILLIAD account. You need to sign up for an ILLIAD account using the link here: https://ezproxy.taylor.edu/login?url=https://taylor.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/illiad.dll  This link can be found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.

2. Using World Cat Research Station, perform the search. Example: Title:The practice of assessment in music education : frameworks, models, and designs. Author: Timothy S Brophy; Frank Abrahams; et al Publisher: Chicago: GIA Publications, 2010

4. This Link goes directly to your ILLIAD account. Log in to ILLIAD. The information on this record should automatically fill in the request form. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Submit Request:. In the body of the record scroll down to World Cat: find it in libraries globally. To the right is a link: Request item through Interlibrary Loan.

Steps for ordering an article through interlibrary loan. 

1. Be sure that you have an ILLIAD account. You need to sign up for an ILLIAD account using the link listed above. This link can also be found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.

2. Using the desired database, perform a search. Example using ERIC.

Author: Elpus, Kenneth. Article Title:  "National Estimates Of Male And Female Enrolment in American High School Choirs, Bands And Orchestras." Jousrnal TItle: Music Education Research. 17.1 (2015): 88-102.

3. Cut and paste this title into Journal Finder located on the main Zondervan Library page. This verifies that we do not own the title in full text in another ZL database. This is an essential step that saves time. If Zondervan Library owns or has access to the item in full text form it will not be delivered to you through your ILLIAD account. The Interlibrary Loan department may inform you that we have access to it by email as a courtesy to you. But this is not guaranteed. You will ultimately have to redo a search.

4. You do NOT need or want to order any article directly from a publisher link or home page. The access to articles this way is very costly. Zondervan is usually able to obtain the item from a local college or university for free or in some cases we have accounts for purchasing on- demand articles. Let us find it for you, in most cases at a more reasonable cost that what Elsevier or other publishers will charge.

5. You can then import the needed information into a blank ILLIAD form and submit the request.

6. This is the easy to find link to interlibrary loan  External Link IconBorrow this item from another library (Interlibrary Loan)