Skip to main content

BIB 110 - Biblical Literature 1 (Pak)

This guide provides resources to support the BIB 110 course and assignments.

Locating Books in Zondervan

Call numbers will indicate where an item is in the Library based on its collection. 

Reference Collection

  • Reference materials are typically those you use for a short section, such as Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and sometimes Handbooks. These items must be used in the Library building and cannot be checked out. There are a few Bible commentaries in this collection, but the majority are not here (see below).

    The Reference Collection is located on the Library's Main level, to the right as you walk in. Look for the brown "Reference" sign. 

 

Main Collection

  • Items in the Main Collection are those that you can check out. You will find numerous Bible Commentaries in this collection. 

    This Collection is located on the Upper level of the Library.

Finding eBooks

The Library has more eBooks than Print books on our shelves. This marks a big change in how Libraries do business and how people read books. 

Search these eBook collections to discover the wide variety of books available online.

EBSCO eBook Collection

Steps for Ordering on ILL

Steps for ordering a book through interlibrary loan.

1. Be sure that you have an ILLIAD account. You need to sign up for an ILLIAD account using the link here: https://ezproxy.taylor.edu/login?url=https://taylor.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/illiad.dll  This link can be found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.

2. Using World Cat Research Station, perform your search using either Libraries Worldwide or PALNT Consortium Libraries option. At the item level you may request an item that is not owned by Zondervan Library Example: 

What did the ancient Israelites eat? : diet in biblical times

3. In the body of the record scroll down to World Cat: find it in libraries globally. To the right is a link: Request item through Interlibrary Loan.

4. This Link goes automatically to your ILLIAD account. Log in to ILLIAD. The information on this record should automatically fill in the request form. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Submit Request

Steps for ordering an article through interlibrary loan. 

1. Be sure that you have an ILLIAD account. You need to sign up for an ILLIAD account using the link listed above. This link can also be found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.

2. Using the desired database, perform a search. Example 

Journal Title: Biblica, Article Title: Der Wein in Bibel und Talmud by Johannes Doller.4 no 3 Jul 1923, p 267-299. 

3. Cut and paste this title into Journal Finder (also called Full Text Finder) located on the main Zondervan Library page. By searching here you verify that we do not own the title in full text in another ZL database. This is an essential step that saves you time. If Zondervan Library owns or has access to the item in full text form it will not be delivered to you through your ILLIAD account. The Interlibrary Loan department may inform you that we have access to it by email as a courtesy to you. But this is not guaranteed. You will ultimately have to redo a search.

5. You do NOT need or want to order any article directly from a publisher . The access to articles this way is very costly. Zondervan is usually able to obtain the item from a local college or university for free or in some cases we have accounts for purchasing on- demand articles. Let us find it for you, in most cases at a more reasonable cost that what Elsevier, Taylor and Francis or other publishers will charge.

6. You can then import the needed information into a blank ILLIAD form and submit the request.

7.  This link will directly import information into your ILLIAD interlibrary loan request.  External Link IconBorrow this item from another library (Interlibrary Loan)