Skip to main content

SWK 200 - Explorations in Social Work

This guide provides information resources to support the Explorations in Social Work assignments.

Interlibrary Loan

Steps for Ordering on ILL

Steps for ordering a book through interlibrary loan.

1. Be sure that you have an ILLIAD account. You need to sign up for an ILLIAD account using the link here: https://ezproxy.taylor.edu/login?url=https://taylor.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/illiad.dll  This link can be found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.

2. Using World Cat Research Station, perform the search. Example: Title: Swaziland. Mike Unwin. Bradt Travel Guides. 2012

3. In the body of the record scroll down to World Cat: find it in libraries globally. To the right is a link: Request item through Interlibrary Loan.

4. This Link goes to your ILLIAD account. Log in to ILLIAD. The information on this record should automatically fill in the request form. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Submit Request

Steps for ordering an article through interlibrary loan. 

1. Be sure that you have an ILLIAD account. You need to sign up for an ILLIAD account using the link listed above. This link can also be found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.

2. Using the desired database, perform a search. Example: D.I.Y. Africa By: KUGEL, SETH. New York Times. 3/30/2014, Vol. 163 Issue 56456, Travel p1-7. 3p. , Database: Academic Search Premier

3. The source title is New York Times. 

4. Cut and paste this title into Journal Finder located on the main Zondervan Library page. This verifies that we do not own the title in full text in another ZL database. This is an essential step that saves time. If Zondervan Library owns or has access to the item in full text form it will not be delivered to you through your ILLIAD account. The Interlibrary Loan department may inform you that we have access to it by email as a courtesy to you. But this is not guaranteed. You will ultimately have to redo a search.

5. You do NOT need or want to order any article directly from a publisher website. The access to articles this way is very costly. Zondervan is usually able to obtain the item from a local college or university for free or in some cases we have accounts for purchasing on- demand articles. Let us find it for you, in most cases at a more reasonable cost that what Elsevier, Sage, or other publishers will charge.

6. You can also import the needed information into a blank ILLIAD form and submit the request if the database does not have a universal link to interlibrary loan:   

External Link IconBorrow this item from another library (Interlibrary Loan)

 

 

Purdue OWL Website

Purdue OWL provides information and examples for using the APA Format. Here is a link to the section that covers APA and is required reading from your professor.

Reference List: Basic Rules https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/05/

Is It Plagiarism Yet? https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/589/02/