Web sites can be sources of great information...but how do you determine what is okay to use in academic papers?
Here are 4 considerations as you assess web sites for use in your assignments.
Author: Who wrote the section, and what are their credentials? What larger organization are they affiliated with? If I google them, what do I find? What is the parent web site?
Bias: Can you identify an angle/slant/bias in the article or on the larger web site? What is the purpose of the study or content—to prove something to a particular group? Can you corroborate the claims with at least 2 other sources?
Content: Is the source accurate? Are there basic mistakes in grammar, dead links, or spelling? When was it posted or last updated or published? Does it contain claims that contradict things you know to be true or even other claims within the article itself?
Support: Does the content have citations or sources? Can you verify the sources? Can you contact the author or organization?
Provides access to e-prints in a variety of Mathematical subjects. From the web site: "arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation."
An interesting source with a wide variety of links to software, teaching materials, and other topics in math, all combined with a searchable database. Topics section is organized by major category (algebra, applied mathematics, calculus, etc.).
Composed of six categories, this site provides varied resources related to the study of and practice within the field of mathematics. The free sections include: The Journal of Mathematics and its Applications (JOMA), Digital Classroom Resources (DCR), Convergence (Online magazine for the history of mathematics, registration required), and OSSLETS, or the Open Source Sharable Mathlets located within the DCR.
Provides a great overview for math in general, and specific subdivisions. Offers browsing by subject, searching by keyword, a visual map from which to access the information, and text description of the site, its purpose, and layout. Successfully maps the field of math in a logical manner.
Contains the world's most encyclopedic collection of information about mathematical functions. The site also details the interrelationships between the special functions of mathematical physics and the elementary functions of mathematical analysis as well as the interrelationships between the functions in each group.
Considered not only the clearest and most readable online resource for mathematics, but also one of the most reliable. A comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for all levels of academic study.
Allows browsing, basic searching, and bibliographical searching of a large collection of historical texts, published in the 19th and early 20th centuries, from the field of mathematics. Also links out to a similar collection at Cornell University.
"Wolfram Alpha is a computational search engine (sometimes referred to as an 'answer engine'). The interface looks similar to that of a regular search engine but queries typed into the search box result answers to specific questions rather than listings of websites that may be relevant to the query." - WhatIs.com